Marijuana Charges in Houston
Aggressive Houston Marijuana Defense Lawyer
Texas law cracks down hard on drug crime offenders. That is why Mark Morasch commits to providing unrelenting defense for his clients; protecting their rights and freedoms no matter what the case. With over a decade of experience in his practice, Mark Morasch's skill and dedication have led to his being recognized as one of Houston's Top Lawyers by
H Texas Magazine for five years in a row. The array of marijuana charges you may face is vast. You need an attorney who is not only well-versed in all of them, but has the experience and passion to craft a solid case in your defense.
Types of Marijuana Charges in Texas
There are many types of marijuana charges or "marihuana" charges as it is often referred to in Texas law. This also means that there is a wide range of serious penalties. Any conviction will leave its mark on your record, affecting your reputation and trailing your every job or housing application. Mark Morasch can help you face any of these marijuana crimes and fight for your charged to be reduced or dismissed.
Cultivation of Marijuana: If you are charged with cultivating, or manufacturing marijuana, then you could face some frightening penalties. If charged with cultivating less than one gram of marijuana, then you will be charged with a state jail felony. To be charged with a first degree felony, it only takes being charged with cultivating 4 to less than 400 grams. If the charge is one of cultivating more than 400 grams, the punishment would be life imprisonment or 10-99 years in prison with up to $100,000 in fines. Four hundred grams is equivalent to a mere 0.88 pounds! This is a very grave charge, one which requires the strongest defense available.
Delivery of Marijuana: This is another name for trafficking marijuana. There are similar penalties for these charges, and sentencing can be heightened if charged with delivery of marijuana to a minor. Conviction of this charge is a Class B misdemeanor if the amount of marijuana is less than one fourth of an ounce and is not sold. If that amount is sold, then the charge goes up to being one of a Class A misdemeanor. It is a state jail felony to deliver more than a quarter ounce up to 5 pounds of marijuana. And for delivery of more than 50 pounds up to 2,000 pounds of marijuana carries the serious charge and attendant penalties for a first degree felony.
Possession of Marijuana: Depending on how much marijuana you are charged with possessing, you could be facing penalties for a class B misdemeanor, state jail felony, or even up to a second degree felony—if the prosecutor can prove the marijuana was yours and knowingly in your possession. Your driver's license could be suspended, and you could be facing penalties such as 180 days in jail with up to $2,000 in fines (for possession of less than two ounces), or even a prison sentence of 2 to 20 years with up to $10,000 in fines (possession of 50-2,000 pounds of marijuana). If charged of possessing a mere 4 ounces to 5 pounds of marijuana, you will be charged with a felony that could lead to a minimum of 180 days to 2 years in prison with a fine of up to $10,000.
Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana
Under Texas DWI laws, it is illegal to take to the road after using marijuana. Due to the fact that marijuana can mess with your ability to focus, see, make quick decisions and other important activities that are needed while driving, it is prohibited. It is already an illegal action to smoke marijuana in the first place, and if a law officer pulls you over and suspects that you have been taking any kind of drug, you could be looking at harsh penalties. While a typical law officer may hear slurred speech and suspect that you are under the influence of alcohol, a breath test will not reveal the use of marijuana. That is when they may suspect you of drug use. There are Drug Recognition Experts (DRE) that are special police officers that are trained to look for cues of drug use including drooping eyelids, dilated pupils or other obvious signs.
Penalties for drugged driving in Texas vary depending on if it is your first charge or not. Take a look at the following possible penalties:
First Time Offense: Class B Misdemeanor
- Up to $2,000 in fines
- License suspension for one year
- Anywhere from 3-180 days in jail
- Community service for 24-100 hours
- Surcharge of $1,000-$2,000 for three years
Second Time Offense: Class A Misdemeanor
- Anywhere from 3 days to one year in jail
- Up to $4,000 in fines
- License suspension for 180 days to 2 years
- Community service for 80-200 hours
- Surcharge of $1,500-$2,000 for three years
Third Time or More: Third Degree Felony
- Jail time from 2-10 years
- Fines up to $10,000
- License Suspension for 180 days to 2 years
- Surcharge of $1,500-$2,000 for three years
- Community service for 160-600 hours
There are of course other aggravating factors such as driving under the influence of marijuana with a minor under the age of 15 in the car or also being drunk at the time of arrest. Speak with a Houston marijuana lawyer from our firm to learn about the possible defense you have if you have been charged with driving under the influence of marijuana.
Hard-hitting Houston Criminal Representation You Need
Former prosecutor, Mark Morasch, is fully prepared to vigorously defend his clients. His years as a prosecutor equipped him with the inside knowledge of how the other side operates. With this experience and honed skills, Mark Morasch has 15 years of experience in criminal law. He is thoroughly prepared to help build the strongest defense possible, protecting your rights and reputation. When you are facing such life-altering prospects as hefty fines, jail, and even a life in prison, all which will go down on your record, you need to turn to a dedicated
Houston drug crime attorney.
Let Mark Morasch help you in this difficult time. You can start today with filling out a free case evaluation form, and you can reach the office at any time to
schedule an appointment. We are
available 24 hours and 7 days a week to assist you or your loved ones! The more time there is to strengthen your case, the better, so do not wait. Call the Houston office today!