Grow House FAQ
Drug Crime Attorney in Houston
Marijuana is no longer as taboo as it once was. In fact, this little green
herb has become increasingly more accepted as part of today’s society
especially since, to this day, there has yet to be a death that is specifically
related to cannabis and there is still no proof regarding any ill effects
it might have on the health of those who use it. However, state and federal
laws have a long way to go before they catch up with public opinion. The
state of Texas has particularly severe laws when it comes to this illicit
substance and still prosecutes and jails individuals at an unfortunately
high rate. At Mark Morasch, Attorney at Law, our Houston drug attorney
will fight to protect your rights and work toward securing the best possible
outcome for your case.
Contact us today at (713) 468-9333 for the help you need.
Below are some facts about Texas marijuana cultivation laws that can answer
some of the most frequently asked questions about this topic:
- For those who cultivate or make use of a marijuana grow house, the quantity
of plants or useable marijuana is factored to decide the classification
of one’s drug charge.
- If the amount of marijuana possessed amounts to 2 ounces or less, this
will be considered a Class B misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to
a year in county jail and or a fine of up to $2,000.
- If you are found in possession of 4 ounces or less, but more than 2 ounces,
this will be considered a Class A misdemeanor and is punishable by up
to a year in county jail and or a fine of up to $4,000.
- If you possess 5 pounds or less, but more than 4 ounces of marijuana, this
is considered a State Jail Felony. This is punishable by up to 2 years
in state jail and a maximum fine of $10,000.
- If you are in possession of 50 pounds or less, but more than 5 pounds of
marijuana, this is a Third Degree Felony and is punishable by up to 10
years in state prison and a maximum fine of $10,000.
- If the amount of marijuana possessed is 2,000 pounds or less, but more
than 50 pounds, this is considered a Second Degree Felony, which is punishable
by up to 20 years in state prison and or a maximum fine of $10,000.
- It is considered a First Degree Felony if the amount of marijuana possessed
is more than 2,000 pounds. This offense is punishable by imprisonment
in the institutional division of the Texas Department of criminal justice
for life or a term that is not more than 99 years or less than 5 years.
Additionally, offenders will owe a fine of up to $50,000.
Houston Drug Crime Attorney
The punishments associated with being in possession of large quantities
of marijuana can be incredibly severe and, without proper representation,
you could end up facing the maximum possible penalties. At Mark Morasch,
Attorney at Law, we will provide the legal advocacy and experience you
need if you have been charged with growing marijuana. Reach out to us today.
Contact us at
(713) 468-9333 for the help you need.