Houston Possession of Marijuana Attorney

Accused of marijuana possession? Take action and call the firm!

If you have been arrested for Possession of Marijuana in Texas, it is best to contact an experienced Houston marijuana lawyer as soon as possible. A conviction for Possession of Marijuana is punishable from 1 day in the county jail up to 99 years in prison, or life in prison with the possibility of parole, and/or $1.00 up to $50,000.00 in fines. This wide range of punishment is based on the weight of the useable amount of marijuana found in your possession.

If you are found in possession of any useable amount of marijuana, you can be convicted of a class B misdemeanor. Email a Houston Possession of Marijuana attorney or call 713-880-1118 to schedule a free initial consultation.

Helping You Seek the Best Possible Result

As a criminal drug defense lawyer with more than 20+ years of experience, I have handled thousands of drug cases. It is best to talk to an experienced Houston criminal defense lawyer who can prevent you from being convicted and keep you out of jail.

Punishment Ranges by Weight for Possession of Marijuana

Weight

Time

Fine

less than 2 oz.

1 day to 180 days in the County Jail

$2,000.00

2 oz. to 4 oz.

1 day to 1 year in the County Jail

$4,000.00

4 oz. to 5 lbs.

180 days to 2 years in State Jail

$10,000.00

5 lbs. to 50 lbs.

2 years to 10 years in TDC

$10,000.00

50 lbs. to 2,000 lbs.

2 years to 20 years in TDC

$10,000.00

2,000 lbs. or more

5 years to 99 years or Life in TDC

$50,000.00

Other significant consequences to a conviction for Possession of Marijuana (POM) are:

  • the suspension of your Driver's License, and
  • becoming ineligible to receive Student Loans and Grants.

Texas Health and Safety Code. Texas Controlled Substances Act. Section 481.121. OFFENSE: POSSESSION OF MARIHUANA. (a) Except as authorized by this chapter, a person commits an offense if the person knowingly or intentionally possesses a usable quantity of marihuana. (b) An offense under Subsection (a) is: (1) a Class B misdemeanor if the amount of marihuana possessed is two ounces or less; (2) a Class A misdemeanor if the amount of marihuana possessed is four ounces or less but more than two ounces; (3) a state jail felony if the amount of marihuana possessed is five pounds or less but more than four ounces; (4) a felony of the third degree if the amount of marihuana possessed is 50 pounds or less but more than 5 pounds; (5) a felony of the second degree if the amount of marihuana possessed is 2,000 pounds or less but more than 50 pounds; and (6) punishable by imprisonment in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice for life or for a term of not more than 99 years or less than 5 years, and a fine not to exceed $50,000, if the amount of marihuana possessed is more than 2,000 pounds.

Get the Help You Need 24/7 from a Houston Marijuana Attorney

To speak to an experienced criminal drug defense attorney about your Marijuana case, please contact my office to discuss your drug charge. Call 713-468-9333 (713-got-Weed). I offer payment plans and accept Visa, MasterCard, Discover Card, and American Express.

Contact Mark Morasch Today

I Aggressively Defend The Rights Of The Accused Throughout The State Of Texas

Send My Information