Houston Possession of Controlled Substance Lawyer
Possession of Controlled Substance Defense in Texas
If you have been charged with Possession of Controlled Substance, it is
best to contact an experienced criminal drug defense lawyer as soon as
possible. As a criminal drug defense lawyer I have more than
20+ years of experience, and I have handled thousands of
Possession of Controlled Substance Penalties in Texas
A violation of the
Texas Controlled Substances Act for simple Possession of a Controlled Substances (PCS) such as
Methamphetamine, is punishable by 1 day in the County Jail up to 99 years in Prison, or
Life in Prison with the possibility of Parole, and/or from $1.00 up to
$250,000.00 in fines.
This wide range of punishment is based on the type of controlled substance
which determines the Penalty Group, and the weight of the controlled substance
found in your possession or in some instances the number of units of the
How much time can I get for my possession charge?
To use the three tables that follow:
First, determine your Penalty Group (PG). You are either a PG-1, PG-1A, PG-2,
PG-2A, PG-3, or PG-4.
Second, use your PG and the weight of the Controlled Substance, or the units of
Controlled Substance to find the Class of Misdemeanor, or Degree of Felony
for your Drug Charge.
Third, find your Class of Misdemeanor, or Degree of Felony. This will tell you
the maximum fine amount, and the minimum and maximum amount of jail time
or prison time for your possession charge.
Example: You were arrested for possession of cocaine weighing 0.5 grams, which
is equal to about half a packet of sugar. In the first table you will
find that cocaine is a PG-1 Controlled Substance. In the second table
you find that less than 1 gram of cocaine equals a State Jail Felony.
In the third table will find that the punishment for a State Jail Felony
is a maximum fine of $10,000.00 and/or 6 months to 2 years in the State Jail.
Controlled Substance by Penalty Group (PG)
Class/Degree of Drug Charge by Weight or Units of Controlled Substance for PG
Standard Punishment Range by Class and Degree of Drug Charge
Life without Parole, or Death
5-15 years to 99 years, or Life with Parole
5 years to 99 years, or Life with Parole
Other significant consequences to a conviction for Possession of Controlled
Substances (PCS) are:
- The suspension of your Driver's License, and
- Becoming ineligible to receive Student Loans and Grants.
In Texas, even a trace amount of certain Controlled Substances such as
Cocaine, Ecstasy, and Methamphetamines can be enough for a felony drug
Experience Matters: I Can Help You Explore Every Legal Option
I have been
defending people arrested in Texas for Possession of Controlled Substance
since 2003, and for the six years preceding 2003, I prosecuted felony drug cases
for the state of Missouri.
I understand what is at stake in a felony drug case, and I know what a
felony conviction can do to your ability to live a normal life. It is
best to talk to an experienced possession of controlled substance lawyer
who can prevent you from being convicted and keep you out of jail.
Get the Help You Need 24/7 from a Houston Felony Drug Attorney
I offer payment plans, and accept Visa, MasterCard, and Discover. Program
my number into your cell phone now, because you never know when you'll
If you are charged with a felony drug case, call 713-468-9333 (713-got-Weed) or
e-mail my office to discuss your drug charge.