Charged With Possession of Meth?

Reatin an Aggressive Houston Drug Crime Lawyer

If you are found in possession of even a trace amount of a methamphetamine then you can be charged with a State Jail Felony. The DA must prove (1) that you knew that the substance was methamphetamine, and (2) that the methamphetamine was under your actual care, custody, control, or management.

Penalties for Possession of a Controlled Substance

There is a wide range of punishment for the charge of the possession of methamphetamine. The amount of the fine and the amount of jail or prison time depends on the amount of the methamphetamine that was found in your possession. If you have received a final conviction for possession of methamphetamine then you will also receive a driver's license suspension. You have received a final conviction for possession of methamphetamine if you have served time, or paid a fine and did not do probation. Less than one gram of methamphetamine can result in 2 years in state jail and up to a $10,000 fine. If you are found in possession of at least 4 grams but less than 200 grams of methamphetamine, then you can be sent to prison for 2 to 20 years and fined up to $10,000.00. To read more about possession of controlled substances visit my blog.

Houston Drug Crime Attorney

Mark Morasch understands that you are in a very difficult situation if you have been found in the possession of methamphetamine in Texas. Email a Houston drug crime lawyer, Mark has the knowledge and experience to help you successfully defend your case. There are three ways to defend a methamphetamine possession case:

  • The substance wasn't methamphetamine
  • It was not your methamphetamine
  • Legal defenses such as an illegal search and seizure or an invalid search warrant

It is important to seek experienced legal representation as soon as possible. Contact Mark today 713-got-Weed, or 713-468-9333.

Contact Mark Morasch Today

I Aggressively Defend The Rights Of The Accused Throughout The State Of Texas

Send My Information