Unlike some other states in the U.S., sale and distribution of marijuana is illegal in Texas. It is a Schedule 1 substance, which means it is considered to have a high potential for abuse and has no recognized medical value. Since it is considered illegal to use or possess marijuana in the state of Texas, those caught and accused of selling this substance find themselves facing significant legal repercussions.
What am I facing with marijuana distribution charges?
Selling just 7 grams of marijuana, or about one third of a typical sandwich bag, carries a penalty of 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine if caught and convicted. These penalties can increase if the substance was sold to someone under 18 or in a restricted area, such as a school zone or in front of a youth center.
In addition to these penalties, those accused of selling marijuana in Texas may find themselves in violation of stamp tax payment. A stamp tax is a tax placed on some transactions that require the purchase of a stamp to be affixed onto the item that is being sold. Texas law mandates that those selling marijuana in Texas abide by the stamp tax law and place a stamp on the merchandise. Since marijuana is illegal, the tax is typically left unpaid. When someone is convicted of selling marijuana, this stamp tax is taken into consideration when determining penalties.
When working with a drug crime lawyer, they can help you craft a strong defense against your charges. To discuss your case and how you can be defended from these accusations, schedule a free consultation
with our firm.