I represent clients charged with all Texas weapons violations, including:
When you have been arrested for carrying a weapon in a prohibited place then you need to hire an experienced criminal defense lawyer who can provide the best legal defense for a weapons charge.
How much time can I get for carrying a weapon into an airport or other prohibited place?
Unless you are on duty as a member of law enforcement or the U.S. military, it is a third-degree felony to carry a weapon into any government office or facility, a school regardless if it is public or private unless the weapon is a handgun and you are licensed to carry a handgun, a healthcare facility, airport, on public transportation, and in amusement parks. If convicted of a third-degree felony, you could be sentenced to a minimum of two years up to a maximum of ten years in the Texas Department of Corrections and/or fined up to $10,000.00. However, if the weapon is a location restricted knife then it is a Class C misdemeanor, unless the location is a school then it is a third degree felony. Also, it is still a crime to carry a location restricted knife into any place of worship.
Sec. 46.03. PLACES WEAPONS PROHIBITED. (a) A person commits an offense if the person intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly possesses or goes with a firearm, location-restricted knife, club, or prohibited weapon listed in Section 46.05(a): (1) on the physical premises of a school or educational institution, any grounds or building on which an activity sponsored by a school or educational institution is being conducted, or a passenger transportation vehicle of a school or educational institution, whether the school or educational institution is public or private, unless: (A) pursuant to written regulations or written authorization of the institution; or (B) the person possesses or goes with a concealed handgun the person is licensed to carry under Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, and no other weapon to which this section applies, on the premises of an institution of higher education or private or independent institution of higher education, on any grounds or building on which an activity sponsored by the institution is being conducted, or in a passenger transportation vehicle of the institution; (2) on the premises of a polling place on the day of an election or while early voting is in progress; (3) on the premises of any government court or offices utilized by the court, unless pursuant to written regulations or written authorization of the court; (4) on the premises of a racetrack; (5) in or into a secured area of an airport; or (6) within 1,000 feet of premises the location of which is designated by the Texas Department of Criminal Justice as a place of execution under Article 43.19, Code of Criminal Procedure, on a day that a sentence of death is set to be imposed on the designated premises and the person received notice that: (A) going within 1,000 feet of the premises with a weapon listed under this subsection was prohibited; or (B) possessing a weapon listed under this subsection within 1,000 feet of the premises was prohibited. (g) An offense under this section is a third-degree felony. (g-1) If the weapon that is the subject of the offense is a location-restricted knife, and offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor, except that the offense is a felony of the third degree if the offense is committed under Subsection (a)(1).