I represent clients charged with all Texas drug charges, including:
When you have been arrested for delivery of a controlled substance then you need to hire an experienced criminal defense lawyer who can provide the best legal defense for a drug charge.
How much time can I get for delivery of a controlled substance?
A violation of the Texas Controlled Substances Act for Manufacture or Delivery of a Controlled Substances such as Cocaine, Ecstasy, or Methamphetamine, is punishable by 1 day in the County Jail up to 99 years in Prison, or Life in Prison with the possibility of Parole, and/or from $1.00 up to $250,000.00 in fines. This wide range of punishment is based on the type of controlled substance which determines the Penalty Group, and the weight of the controlled substance found in your possession or in some instances the number of units of the controlled substance.
Can I be convicted of delivery of a controlled substance?
To prove that you knowingly delivered the controlled substance, the State must prove either an actual or constructive transfer of the drugs occurred.
EXAMPLE: A Texas drug charge for Delivery of at least 4 grams but less than 200 grams of contraband listed in Penalty Group One can result in a minimum of 5 years up to life-in-prison and a fine of $10,000.00. To put this in perspective 4 to 200 grams equals .0088 to .44 pounds, or .14 to 7.055 ounces.